Finding the Words

a blog devoted to the art, craft, and frustration of writing

No words October 25, 2007

Filed under: writing — itsy @ 12:17 pm

I just returned from a fantastic vacation. A honeymoon, actually. Three glorious weeks in France.

I can’t complain. The only thing is, now that I sit down to write, I find  I have no words. I’ve made several false starts, forced myself to get”black on white.” I rather feel like a car sputtering to start.

I read somewhere that it takes a week, at least, to pick up creative steam. I suppose I’ll just have to be patient, and keep at it, until things start picking up for me again. Still, it’s disconcerting. I think this is the longest time I’ve taken without writing for the last two years or so. Even while planning for my wedding, I was writing fiction up until the day before the event.  I’m hoping it will give me some perspective, to not have written for so long. One thing’s certain; I sure did miss writing.

 

Leave a Reply

